With thanks to the judges of the MJA Awards 2023.

Maya Anaokar,  Head Of Communications and Marketing, Patients Association

Rebecca Asher, Partnerships and Engagement Manager, Wellcome Trust and freelance consultant

Susan Bahl, Head Of Media, NHS Providers

Yuba Bessaoud, Media Lead, National Institute Of Health Research (NIHR) Coordinating Centre

Adam Brimelow, Director of Communications, NHS Providers

James Brindle, CEO Journalists’ Charity

Claire Burroughs, Director of Communications, Policy and Research, Royal College of Physicians

Alison Cranage, Science Writer, Wellcome Sanger Institute

Natasha Donovan, Communications Director HappytoHealthYou

Helene Feger, Director of strategy, communications and engagement for Digital Transformation in the NHS

Christine Hancock, Founder and Director, C3 Collaborating for Health

Richard Hoey, Director of Communications, Institute of Cancer Research

Catherine Hood, NHS doctor, specialist in psychosexual medicine, health broadcaster and writer

Jenny Hope, Former Medical Correspondent of the Daily Mail

Anna Jefferson, Head of Media and Regional Engagement, Care Quality Commission

Paul Johnson, Freelance Health Journalist

Louise Jury, Communications Director art and creative industries

Sophie Lane, Science Officer (Science Media) Cancer Research UK

Edel McCaffrey, Group Head of Corporate Communications, LGC

Andrew McCracken, Assistant Director, External Affairs, The King’s Fund

Kaye McIntosh, Freelance Health Journalist

Owen Meredith, CEO News Media Association

Kerry Noble, Communications Consultant in medicine and science

Katherine O’Brien, Associate Director, British Pregnancy Advisory Service

Susan Osborne, Director of Communications, The Goodwork Organisation

Jane Plumb, Chief Executive, Group B Strep Support

Mark Purcell, Managing Director, Jonathan Street PR, Health Communicators

Jo Revill, Former Health Editor, Observer and Evening Standard

Daniel Reynolds, Director of Communications, NHS Confederation

Jennifer Richardson, Features Editor, The BMJ; Journalism Lecturer Kingston University

Genevieve Robson, Senior writer and operations director, SWM Health

Lee Rodwell, Health Writer and Author

Barbara Rowlands, Hon Research Fellow in Journalism, City, University of London

Nick Samuels, Director of Healthcare, Freshwater UK

David Schley, Deputy Director, Sense about Science

Kate Sidwell, Voluntary Sector Communications Consultant & PR

Michele Simmons, Health Journalist, Editorial Consultant and Author

Maggie Stratton, Head Of Media Relations, Wellcome

Matt Tee, Executive Director, Integration, NHS

Antony Tiernan, Director Of Communications NHS75

Liz Tucker, Director/Executive Producer, Verve Productions

Liz Vercoe, Board Member, British Journalism Review

Jennifer Walters, Associate Director For Media, Mind

June Walton, Former Deputy Editor, Good Housekeeping

Cressida Ward, Corporate Affairs, Patient Advocacy, Communications, IBD Registry

Kate Wighton, Medical Student, Former Research Media Manager, Imperial College London.

Mark Wray, Former Managing Director PA Training

Judging for the 2023 Awards takes place during July 2023. The finalists will be announced on the MJA website and @mjauk in early August 2023 and the winners will be revealed at our awards ceremony on September 13, 2023.