With special thanks to our judges, who have the difficult task of choosing the finalists and winners of the hotly contested MJA Awards.

They are, in alphabetical order:

Maya Anaokar Head of communications and marketing, Patients Association

Rebecca Asher Partnerships and engagement manager, Wellcome Trust and freelance consultant

Susan Bahl Head of media, NHS Providers

Yuba Bessaoud Media lead, National Institute of Health Research (NIHR)

Professor Mary Ethna Black Public health doctor; Climate Science and Adaptation boards member

Dr Sarah Brewer Award winning health journalist and author

Adam Brimelow Director of communications, NHS Providers

David Brindle Chair, Ambient Support; former public services editor, The  Guardian

James Brindle CEO Journalists’ Charity

Claire Burroughs Executive director of communications, policy, and research, Royal College of Physicians

Catherine Collins Registered dietician; media spokesperson, British Dietetic Association

Laura Dibb Head of communications, Cystic Fibrosis Trust

Natasha Donovan Director, Happytohealthyou; clinical educator

Helen Feger Former director of strategy, communications, and engagement, The Professional Record Standards Body

Christine Hancock Founder and director, C3 Collaborating for Health

Dr Mark Honigsbaum Senior lecturer, department of journalism, City, University of London, medical historian, author

Dr Catherine Hood NHS doctor; specialist in psychosexual medicine; broadcaster and writer

Jenny Hope Co-partner RNA Media training; former Daily Mail medical correspondent

Lis Howell Professor emeritus of journalism, director of Expert Women Project, City, University of London

Anna Jefferson Director: Media and Regional Communications, Care Quality Commission

Dr Stella Kingett Psychiatrist: chair of Women and Mental Health special interest group, Royal College of Psychiatrists

Anita Knowles Director of communications, Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust

Ben Kolbington Head of communications and deputy director, Institute of Cancer Research

Edel McCaffrey Group head of corporate communications LGC global life science tools company

Andrew McCracken Joint interim director of communications, head of external affairs, The Kings Fund

Kaye McIntosh, Freelance health journalist

Kerry Noble Communications consultant in medicine and science

Susan Osborne Director of communications, The Goodwork Organisation

Steve Palmer Director of communications, Wellcome Sanger Institute and

Wellcome Genome Campus

Jane Plumb Chief Executive, Group B Strep Support

Mark Purcell Managing director, Jonathan Street PR, health communicators

Jo Revill CEO Mosaic family support for bereaved children

Daniel Reynolds Director of communications, NHS Confederation

Jennifer Richardson Senior features editor, The BMJ

Genevieve Robson Senior writer and operations director, SWM Health

Lee Rodwell Health writer and author

Barbara Rowlands Hon research fellow in journalism, City, University of London

Nick Samuels Director of healthcare, Freshwater UK

David Schley Deputy director, Sense about Science

Henry Scowcroft Head of communications, Alzheimer’s Research UK

Kate Sidwell Charity sector communications, media & PR specialist

Michele Simmons Health journalist; editorial consultant and author

Maggie Stratton Head of media, Wellcome Trust

Matt Tee Executive director of communications and engagement, NHS Kent & Medway

Antony Tiernan Former communications director, NHS England and London Ambulance Service

John Underwood Director, Centre for Health Communication Research

June Walton Freelance writer, editor, consultant

Cressida Ward Head of communications and engagement, IBD Registry

Edward Ware Head of news, MIND mental health charity

Richard Westcott Head of communications and engagement, Cambridge University health partners, Cambridge biomedical campus

Kate Wighton, Junior doctor; former research media manager, Imperial College, London