AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

By July 3, 2018Public

Entries are now being accepted for the Science Journalism Awards organised by the American Association for the Advancement of Science and supported by the Kavli Foundation.

Organisers say the competition is now truly international, with entries welcomed from  journalists doing work for independent news organizations around the globe.

There are two awards in each category: Gold, with a prize of $5,000, and Silver, with a prize of $3,500, and the awards are presented each year at the American Association for the Advancement of Science Annual Meeting in February. Winners will also be provided with travel and accommodation for themselves and a guest to attend the presentation ceremony.

Work published in print, online or broadcast on air between 16 July 2017 and 15 July 2018 is eligible. The entry deadline is 1 August 2018.


Contest Rules

Submission Procedures

Frequently Asked Questions

Submit Online

The awards recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries.


The categories:
• Large Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with circulation of 150,000 or more)
• Small Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with circulation of less than 150,000)
• Magazine
• Video: Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less)
• Video: In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes)
• Audio (Radio or Podcast)
• Online
• Children’s Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)

If you have any questions, contact .

AAAS/Science | 1200 New York Avenue NW | Washington, DC 20005 | USA
+1-202-326-6730 | 866-265-4152 (toll-free in the USA)


Sallie Robins

Author Sallie Robins

 MJA Administrator

More posts by Sallie Robins

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend