Winners of the Medical Journalists’ Association award for Lifetime Achievement

By November 27, 2014Public


Dr Oliver Gillie @MJA

Occasionally the Medical Journalists’ Association recognises an exceptional contribution to communicating health and medicine with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr Oliver Gillie was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2014 Annual General meeting for his lifelong commitment to the advancement of communication in science and medicine and in particular in the area of Vitamin D.

He joins our roll of honour

Illustrious winners

Professor Sir Jonathan Miller with his MJA Lifetime Achievement Award

Professor Jonathan Miller, the doctor, celebrated writer, broadcaster, and theatre and opera director.

Claire Rayner (OBE), the nurse, journalist, broadcaster, agony aunt and health campaigner whose last words were: “Tell David Cameron that if he screws up my beloved NHS I’ll come back and bloody haunt him.”

Ronnie Bedford (OBE) a founder member of the MJA and legendary science reporter for the Daily Mirror who once famously asked NASA officials ‘Will the astronauts be carrying cyanide kits to the moon?’

Dr Michael O’Donnell, a physician, journalist, author, broadcaster and GMC ‘rebel’ and reformer, who presented television programmes including Is Your Brain Really Necessary and edited the ground-breaking magazine World Medicine.

Content Editor

Author Content Editor

Web Editor

More posts by Content Editor

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend