ABSW Science Writers’ Awards open for entry until 16 March 2016

By March 1, 2016Public

The ABSW Science Writers’ Awards for Britain and Ireland supported by Janssen Research and Development are now open for entry until Wednesday 16 March 2016.

The full list of categories for 2016 and prize money is as follows:

• Best news item (£500)
• Best feature (£500)
• The Royal Society Radio Prize for best scripted/edited radio programme or podcast. Supported by The Royal Society (£500)
• Best scripted/edited TV programme or online video(£500)
• The Dr Katharine Giles science blog award supported by the Dr Katharine Giles Fund* (£500)
• The NUJ Stephen White Award for best communication and reporting of science in a non science context. This Award is made in memory of Stephen White, a highly influential science communicator who sadly died in 2010. The Award is possible due to a donation from Stephen’s widow Elizabeth. (£500)
• Best investigative journalism (£500)
• Best newcomer (£200)
• Best student science blog* (£200)
• The IOP Student Science Publication award supported by IOP Publishing and the Institute of Physics (£300 winner/£200 runner up)

*Scientists winning in these categories will be eligible for the Dr Katharine Giles Award, which provides funding for media training. Previous winners have undertaken the Royal Society’s one day Media Skills Training Course with this funding.

The closing date for entries is midnight on Wednesday 16 March 2016.

Full details of the rules and regulations and the entry form can be found at:

You don’t need to be a member of the ABSW to enter the Awards and you may enter more than one category.

In 2015 more than 200 entries were received for the Awards with winners from all sectors of the media including The Guardian, Nature, BBC Radio 4 and Mosaic.

For queries regarding the awards contact:

The ABSW looks forward to receiving your entries.

Sallie Robins

Author Sallie Robins

 MJA Administrator

More posts by Sallie Robins

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend