2018 MJA Awards: Now closed to entry

By February 21, 2018Awards archive, Public

The Oscars of health journalism — the annual awards of the Medical Journalists’ Association are now closed to entry.   Good luck to everyone who entered.   The finalists will be announced in early June, with the winners announced at the Awards’ Ceremony on Wednesday June 20,2018 at Barber-Surgeon’s Hall. Winners in each category receive a trophy and a prize of £750, with the winner of the prestigious Outstanding Contribution Award receiving an additional £1,000.

The categories in 2018 were:

  • Charity Writer or Broadcaster of the Year
  • Blogger of the Year
  • Newcomer of the Year (36 or fewer months in journalism at the closing date)
  • Regional Reporter of the Year
  • Mental Health Story of the Year
  • Feature of the Year (specialist audience)
  • Feature of the Year (broadcast)
  • Feature of the Year (general audience)
  • News Story of the Year (specialist audience)
  • News Story of the Year (broadcast)
  • News Story of the Year (general audience)
  • Case Study of the Year
  • Science Explained
  • Freelance of the Year
  • Editor of the Year
  • Outstanding Contribution to Health or Medical Journalism –  chosen by the judges from entries across all categories

The Awards opened to entry on Wednesday February 21, 2018 and closed to entry at midnight on Wednesday March 21, 2018 and are for work first published/broadcast on or between Thursday February 23, 2017 and Tuesday February 20, 2018.

To discuss sponsorship opportunities, please email us at

Sallie Robins

Author Sallie Robins

 MJA Administrator

More posts by Sallie Robins

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend