2018 MJA Awards in pictures

By June 21, 2018Public

Wednesday night saw the very best health and medical journalists awarded for their work at a packed and lively ceremony at the Barber-Surgeons’ Hall in the City of London.   Top honours went to the Sun’s Health Features Editor, Christina Earle, who sadly died earlier this year.   Her awards for Outstanding Contribution to Health and Medical Journalism and Editor of the Year were collected by her husband Oli Newbury accompanied by Christina’s parents, sister and close friends and colleagues.

Read all the details of the winners and their work in our detailed run down of the night.

All photos: Trevor Aston Photography

Oli Newbury pays tribute to his wife Christina. Maxine Mawhinney, former BBC news anchor hosts

Oli Newbury accepts his wife’s, Christina’s, Outstanding Achievement Award from Angela Mahaney of sponsors Edelman

Girish Juneja, Channel 4 News, receives News Story of the Year (Broadcast) from MJA Chair and category judge, Lawrence McGinty

Christina Earle’s sister, father, husband and mother with her awards for Editor of the Year and Outstanding Achievement

Oli Newbury receive’s his wife Christina Earle’s Editor of the Year Award from sponsor Lilly’s Sarah Davies

Kat Arney win’s Science Explained, presented by Meral Nugent of sponsor MSD

Pamela Duncan and Denis Campbell of the Guardian receive News Story of the Year (General Audience) from judge Susan Osbourne

James Waldron, Chemist +Druggist, representing Grace Lewis, & Annabelle Collins now of Health Service Journal receive News Story of the Year (Specialist) from judge Clare Ryan

John McDermott, The Economist, wins Feature of the Year (General Audience) presented by Judge Barbara Rowlands

Tom Barry and Jane Bevan of Raw TV receive Feature of the Year (Broadcast) from judge Nicola Hill

Natasha Loder, the Economist wins Feature of the Year (Specialist Audience) presented by judge Jo Revill

Jo Waters, freelance receives Case Story of the Year from judge Lynn Faulds Wood

Faye Kirkland wins Freelance of the Year from judge Kaye McIntosh

Keith Cooper, BMA News is presented with Mental Health Story of the Year by judge Marjorie Wallace

Matthew Hill, BBC South West wins Regional Reporter of the Year presented by judge Bonnie Green

Best Newcomer Oscar Duke receives his award from judge Simon Enright

John Illman wins Charity Writer or Broadcaster of the Year presented by Judge Steve Palmer

Nick Triggle, BBC wins Blogger of the Year from Stefanie Holman of sponsors Sanofi

Andrew Dunne, University of Bath wins inaugural Excellence in PR Award from MJA Chair, Lawrence McGinty

And the winners were…..

























Sallie Robins

Author Sallie Robins

 MJA Administrator

More posts by Sallie Robins

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend