Now closed to entry but who will win the prizes and plaudits?

By May 21, 2023Public

MJA multi-award winner, BBC medical editor Fergus Walsh

Entries have rolled in for the 2023 MJA Awards — our annual celebration of excellence in health and medical journalism — with more than £11,000 in prize money to be won. There are 15 awards, each with a cash prize of £750, plus a new award for Student Journalist of the Year which comes with a £500 cash prize and a priceless boost for the talent of tomorrow.

Good luck to all those who have entered as you could join our pantheon of past winners which includes Sunday Times health editor Sean Lintern,  Daily Mail Good Health editor Justine Hancock, science communicator Kat Arney, BBC medical editor Fergus Walsh and Pulse editor Jaimie Kaffash.

The deadline to enter was midnight on Wednesday May 31.

Awards open to entry in 2023 are (23:59 on May 31, but we’ll give you an extra minute)

Student Journalist of the Year (new award in 2023)
Newcomer of the Year (36 or fewer months in journalism)
Podcast of the Year
Mental Health Story of the Year — sponsored by Edelman
The Gordon McVie Award for reporting cancer research — sponsored by Roche
The Dr David Delvin Award for sex and sexual health journalism — supported by Christine Webber
Feature of the Year (specialist audience)
Feature of the Year (broadcast)
Feature of the Year (general audience).
News Story of the Year (specialist audience)
News Story of the Year (broadcast)
News Story of the Year (general audience)
Case Study of the Year
Science Explained — sponsored by Yakult
Freelance of the Year
Editor of the Year

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities



Content Editor

Author Content Editor

Web Editor

More posts by Content Editor

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend